Home » News » Ahmed Lawan Congratulates Kogi, Bayelsa Governors-Elect

Ahmed Lawan Congratulates Kogi, Bayelsa Governors-Elect

Ahmed LawanThe Senate President, Ahmad Lawan has hailed President Muhammadu Buhari for ensuring a level playing field that has helped the people to assert their sovereignty and select their leaders.

Lawan then hailed the All Progressives Congress (APC) and its candidates on their victory in the governorship elections in Kogi and Bayelsa.

He also praised David Lyon for making history as the first governor Bayelsa who has been elected on a platform different from the outgoing ruling party in the state.

His words, “The impressive turnout of voters in the two states is a ringing endorsement of democracy by Nigerians as their preferred system, notwithstanding its current challenges.”

Lawan praised the security personnel for their effortsin making sure peace and order was maintained in the face of real challenges.

He even adviced the electoral umpire to learn from the problems faced in the two states during their elections, so our electoral process can be improved on.

Congratz to them from us too.

Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan is a Nigerian senator who represents the All Progressive Congress in the Yobe North Constituency of Yobe State. He became a senator in 2007. In 2019, he emerged the new Senate President of the 9th National Assembly with 79 votes cast to beat Senator Mohammed Ali Ndume with 28 votes.

Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan born (1959) was a lecturer with a Nigeria federal university of Maiduguri, Borno North-Eastern state and a politician and senator now the president of the Nigerian senate. He holds a Bachelor’s degree in Geography from the University of Maiduguri in 1984. a Master’s degree in Remote Sensing from the Ahmadu Bello University and a Doctorate degree in Remote Sensing/GIS from Cranfield University, UK, in 1990 and 1996 respectively.

Elected to the House of Representatives for the northern state of Yobe in 1999, at different times Lawan chaired the House Committees on education and agriculture.

After meeting with the Nigerian president Muhammadu Buhari on Thursday, June 6, 2019, Senator Danjuma Goje stepped down for Senator Lawan from the Senate Presidency race. On June 11, 2019, Senator Ahmed Lawan of APC was elected and sworn in as the Senate President of the Nigerian 9th Assembly, after defeating his opponent, Senator Ali Ndume who is also an APC Senator. Senator Ahmed Lawan defeated his opponent with 79 votes to 28.

Follow NaijaVibe


Mani LaPussH – Last Last

TareeQ – Medicine


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *