Home » News » APC Will Rout PDP In Ekiti State’s LG Poll – Ade Ajayi

APC Will Rout PDP In Ekiti State’s LG Poll – Ade Ajayi

apcpdpThe Publicity Secretary of the All Progressives Congress in Ekiti State, Ade Ajayi, has said APC, based on its popularity and successes of Governor Kayode Fayemi would have a clean sweep of the local government elections billed for Saturday.

Ade who bragged that APC would win the 16 chairmanship seats and the 177 councillorship positions available in the election, said the result would totally floor PDP.

He revealed this at a press conference, insisting that APC is prepared for the council polls and the State Independent Electoral Commission must be transparent.

His words, “We want the body to abide by the rules guiding it and the conduct of election.”

“We are reiterating that we will not tolerate any act of illegality from the SIEC. No candidate should be registered after the registration has closed.

“We are not taking any chances in the elections as we have been campaigning vigorously at the grassroots. We have been moving across the 16 local government areas and the 177 wards in the state and the presence of our party is being well felt.

“We want to show the world that we are the only party on ground in Ekiti State. We will rout out the PDP on December 7. The APC will clear all the seats in the 16 local government areas and the 177 wards in the state.

“I can assure you that the APC will allow a level playing field during the polls. We appeal to SIEC not to favour us. Let the electorate favour us. We are confident that the good works of Governor Fayemi will make Ekiti vote for us. This is why we are enjoining other parties to take part in the polls so that we can prove to the world that the APC is the only party here.”

Is he arrogant or confident?

The All Progressives Congress (APC) is a political party in Nigeria, formed on 6 February 2013 in anticipation of the 2015 elections. APC candidate Muhammadu Buhari won the presidential election by almost 2.6 million votes. Incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan conceded defeat on 31 March. This was the first time in Nigeria’s political history that an opposition political party unseated a governing party in a general election and one in which power transferred peacefully from one political party to another. In addition, the APC won the majority of seats in the Senate and the House of Representatives in the 2015 elections, though it fell shy of winning a super-majority to override the ability of the opposition People’s Democratic Party to block legislation.

Formed in February 2013, the party is the result of a merger of Nigeria’s three biggest opposition parties – the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP), a faction of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and the new PDP – a faction of then ruling People’s Democratic Party. The resolution was signed by Tom Ikimi, who represented the ACN; Senator Annie Okonkwo on behalf of the APGA; Ibrahim Shekarau, the Chairman of ANPP’s Merger Committee; and Garba Shehu, the Chairman of CPC’s Merger Committee. Ironically, less than 2 years before the party’s historic victory in the 2015 elections, Messrs. Annie Okonkwo, Tom Ikimi and Ibrahim Shekarau resigned from the party and joined the PDP.

The APC is generally considered to be a centre-left political party that favors controlled market economic policies, and a strong and active role for government regulation. A substantial number of its political leaders are followers of or politicians who subscribe to the social democratic political philosophy of Obafemi Awolowo and the socialist and anti-class views of Aminu Kano. Moreover, the majority of the APC’s base of political support is in southwestern Nigeria and Northern Nigeria, which are dominated by the country’s largest ethnic groups, the Yoruba and the Hausa-Fulani, respectively.

The APC support state’s rights, advancing state police as part of its manifesto. Its social policy is a combination of social nationalism. Despite the parties’ domination by pro-devolution politicians like Atiku Abubakar, Bola Tinubu and Chief Bisi Akande, the party’s presidential bearer and the CPC wing is less inclined to federalism.

Follow NaijaVibe


Mani LaPussH – Last Last

TareeQ – Medicine


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *