Home » News » It Is Shameful To See APC Fail To Conduct A Primary Election – Group

It Is Shameful To See APC Fail To Conduct A Primary Election – Group

All Progressives Congress (APC)

All Progressives Congress (APC)

Popular group, Surulere Elders have come out to say that it hopes APC will present a neutral candidate ahead of the Surulere Local Government election.

Chief Rahim Bolade in Ward F2 recently revealed this to the press, and Nigerians have been reacting.

According to him, he hopes Sulaimon Bamidele Yussuf and Tajudeen Ajide don’t get the party’s ticket because it is clear that both politicians are not scared to take lives.

He added that Sulaimon and Aregbe should even be disqualified, plus it is a shame to see how APC failed to conduct a simple primary election.

His words, β€œBoth Sulaimon and Aregbe should be disqualified.”

β€œThey brought so much pain to Surulere and should never get the chance to lead the council. I suggest the find a neutral person to get the APC ticket.”

What do you think?

The All Progressives Congress (APC) is a political party in Nigeria, formed on 6 February 2013 in anticipation of the 2015 elections. APC candidate Muhammadu Buhari won the presidential election by almost 2.6 million votes. Incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan conceded defeat on 31 March. This was the first time in Nigeria’s political history that an opposition political party unseated a governing party in a general election and one in which power transferred peacefully from one political party to another. In addition, the APC won the majority of seats in the Senate and the House of Representatives in the 2015 elections, though it fell shy of winning a super-majority to override the ability of the opposition People’s Democratic Party to block legislation.

Formed in February 2013, the party is the result of a merger of Nigeria’s three biggest opposition parties – the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP), a faction of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and the new PDP – a faction of then ruling People’s Democratic Party.

The resolution was signed by Tom Ikimi, who represented the ACN; Senator Annie Okonkwo on behalf of the APGA; Ibrahim Shekarau, the Chairman of ANPP’s Merger Committee; and Garba Shehu, the Chairman of CPC’s Merger Committee. Ironically, less than 2 years before the party’s historic victory in the 2015 elections, Messrs. Annie Okonkwo, Tom Ikimi and Ibrahim Shekarau resigned from the party and joined the PDP.

Follow NaijaVibe


Mani LaPussH – ExClusive

TareeQ – Medicine


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *