Home » News » I Didn’t Order Anyone To Attack #EndSWATNow Protesters In Lagos – Sanwo-Olu

I Didn’t Order Anyone To Attack #EndSWATNow Protesters In Lagos – Sanwo-Olu

Babajide Sanwoolu

Babajide Sanwoolu

Lagos State governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu has come out to announce the names of the police officers who assaulted #ENDSARS protesters in the Surelere area of the state.

He revealed this in a brief clip shared on social media by Jubril Gawat, the Senior Special Assistant to the Governor on New Media.

According to him, their names are Bagou Michael, Ekpoudom Etop, Nnamdi Madura, and Akinyemi Benson, and their attack on peaceful protesters is an absolutely condemnable behavior.

He added that the officers were not acting on the instructions of the Lagos State Government and the attacked youths have since been released and attended to.

What do you think?

The Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS) is a Nigerian Police Force unit under the Force Criminal Investigation and Intelligence Department headed by the Deputy Inspector General of Police Anthony Ogbizi. Since 2012, SARS has come under controversy for being linked to acts of extortion, torture, framing and blackmail.

The Special Anti-Robbery Squad was founded in 1992 by former police commissioner Simeon Danladi Midenda. The major reason SARS was formed was when Col. Rindam, a Nigerian Army Colonel was killed by police officers at a checkpoint in Lagos.

SARS is one of the 14 units in the Force Criminal Investigation and Intelligence Department which was established to detain, investigate and prosecute people involved in crimes like armed robbery, kidnapping and other forms of crimes.

During its formation the Special Anti-Robbery Squad was known to operate covertly. SARS operatives were not allowed to wear police uniform, publicly carry guns or have walkie-talkies. They were given unmarked vehicles with sometimes no license plates or private plate numbers during duty.

Follow NaijaVibe


Mani LaPussH – Last Last

TareeQ – Medicine


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *